9大珠寶首飾清潔與保養技巧

收藏珠寶是賞心樂事,既可紀念人生重要時刻,更可傳承給下一代。為了心愛珍藏可在歲月中保持最佳狀態,妥善保養珠寶首飾便是必要課題,尤其是對珍貴寶石而言,每種寶石因其特徵而有各自的保養和清潔程序。以下的保養小知識和隨手可得的清潔用具,能讓您的珠寶保持光澤動人、成為家傳之寶。

為甚麼寶石會失去光澤?

寶石和貴金屬都是有機物質,是各種元素在地球深處經過一連串反應而形成,它們容易因以下原因而受損:

  • 劃痕和崩磕;
  • 接觸到刺激性強的清潔劑;
  • 表面累積了天然油份和塵埃;
  • 長時間曝露於日光或熱源引致褪色。

各種寶石有不同孔隙率(Porosity),並隨著時間推移也會影響寶石的耐久度。鑽石、藍寶石和紅寶石因其緊密的結晶結構而被認定為「無孔」;蛋白石和珍珠則含有較多孔隙,在接觸液體、油份或化學物後較易受損。

即使是無孔寶石,也有機會因製作過程中的切割或拋光技術欠佳,而造成寶石表面出現孔隙或微細裂紋。

寶石和珠寶首飾的保養技巧

以下是保養珠寶首飾的四大原則,適用於絕大部份的寶石和貴金屬。

不要將珠寶存放在一起

用首飾盒收藏心愛珍藏固然好事,但若首飾盒沒有恰當分隔及珠寶沒有放入防塵袋,首飾便有機會互相碰撞,硬度高的寶石更可能傷及較脆弱的寶石;它們還容易因灰塵和污垢沉積而造成微瑕疵及鏽跡,並從一件飾品蔓延至盒內其他珠寶;或者出現項鍊、手鍊打結,日子一久,以上都會導致寶石暗淡、褪色甚至損壞。

運動前脫下首飾

將項鍊、耳環一同存放於沒有分隔的首飾盒內是不適當的珠寶存放方法

儘管麻煩,但最好請在運動前除下所有珠寶首飾。因為汗水、水份和人體油脂都會使大部份金屬褪色或氧化。寶石也有機會在劇烈運動期間磕碎、變形甚至丟失。

如果運動時有穿戴首飾,運動後最好馬上用水和肥皂清洗殘留在首飾上的液體以保持寶石光潔明亮。請記住有些物料是比較耐汗耐水,例如不鏽鋼、純金和鑽石。

游泳時切忌佩戴首飾

同上,戒指、耳環和項鍊中的金屬和寶石有可能因化學物質或您的游泳動作而受損害。首先,游泳池中的氯氣和沙灘海水分別會腐蝕及氧化金屬。此外,防曬用品會除去寶石表面的上油或上色處理(讓寶石更具光澤的後期加工),令寶石失去光澤。

清潔寶石時應避免的化學劑

在討論個別寶石的清潔方法前,我們先記著有些清潔劑千萬不能用:

  • 漂白劑或含氯劑:如前所述,過於強力的刺激性化學物會損害寶石表面。
  • 氨(阿摩尼亞)阿摩尼亞會引致褪色甚至破損,對祖母綠等寶石傷害尤大。
  • 研磨劑牙膏、小蘇打等等研磨劑會刮傷、損壞寶石表面,特別是蛋白石這類硬度較低的寶石。
  • 酸性物質醋、檸檬汁等酸性液體會損壞和使某些寶石褪色,例如珍珠、綠松石、青金石等。

那麼應該如何清潔培育鑽石和符合道德標準的寶石?因為它們的化學結構與天然寶石相同,所以清潔方法亦都一樣。

如何清潔您的寶石首飾?

一般建議是將首飾浸泡於加入了溫和肥皂或洗潔精的溫水之中,然後用清水沖洗,再用超細纖維布輕輕擦乾。普遍而言,超聲波清洗機有機會損壞寶石,甚至使首飾上的寶石鬆脫(尤其是本身已有裂紋或內含物的寶石)。然而人造寶石在監控良好的環境下製造,內含物較少,所以用超聲波技術來清洗亦相對安全。

雖然上述建議適用於大部份寶石,然而每種寶石都有獨一無二的特質。我們揀選了幾款常見於珠寶首飾的寶石,列出清潔它們時需要注意的要點:

祖母綠

莫氏硬度7.5至8度的祖母綠相對較多孔、脆弱,易於受強力化學劑、水份和高溫所損。尤其遇上高溫會擴大現有的裂紋,此情況在天然祖母綠經常出現。

較溫和的祖母綠清潔方法是,把它浸在溫水裡,擠數滴洗潔精然後泡數分鐘。接著以清水徹底沖洗乾淨,再用非研磨性的布抺乾。千萬不要把祖母綠浸於熱水、經受劇烈的溫度變化或用水浸泡超過10分鐘。

紅寶石

保養得宜、鑲有紅寶石和鑽石的胸針

作為剛玉之一的紅寶石,莫氏硬度達到9度,使它和藍寶石聯袂成為硬度僅次於鑽石的寶石。紅寶石沒有祖母綠般脆弱,亦沒有解理(寶石內部的晶面斷裂)。

由於紅寶石耐久性較高,只要紅寶石表面沒有明顯瑕疵或內含物,您可用多種方法清潔它,包括與祖母綠同樣的浸泡法、蒸氣清潔機或超聲波清洗機。

藍寶石

藍寶石與紅寶石都是由相同礦物形成,所以只須確保它沒有裂紋和劃痕,就可以用肥皂水、蒸汽或超聲波進行清潔。如果藍寶石首飾有較大的污漬,您可以直接用軟毛牙刷沾點肥皂輕輕刷洗。

鑽石

作為莫氏硬度達10度、世上最堅硬的礦物,鑽石是最耐磨損、適合長期佩戴的珠寶。

鑽石可以浸泡在去油溶液(例如溫肥皂水)裡較長時間,最多20至30分鐘以去除任何污垢和碎屑,然後利用柔軟的工具擦拭、以清水沖洗並用軟布抹乾。在特殊情況下,可用1:6阿摩尼亞和水的比例稀釋而成的溶液清洗鑽石

蛋白石

蛋白石是其中一種常見質地較軟的寶石,莫氏硬度只有5.5至6.5度。您可以先在溫水裡加入洗潔精,然後用超細纖維布沾上溶液來拭擦蛋白石使其回復光澤,並避免將蛋白石浸在溶液中。

另外亦不要讓蛋白石曝露在猛烈陽光或燈光下,因為劇烈的溫差和高溫會導致蛋白石破裂。

注意:如果您並不確定個別種類寶石的清潔方法,我們建議您向珠寶商尋求專業意見,以免造成不能修復的損害。

總結

泛洋是您可靠的培育寶石專家。我們搜羅並供應非開採、合乎道德標準的有色寶石,包含各種稀有色調和尺寸,而且符合業內最高品質標準。預約免費諮詢以了解更多我們如何助您開拓環保珠寶事業,或展開您的稀有天然寶石珍藏。

發表評論

9 Useful Tips To Clean Your Precious Gemstones And Jewellery

Curating a jewellery collection is an enjoyable endeavour, a tangible way to collect meaningful mementos of special moments in life or places you’ve travelled to pass on to the next generation. But in order to ensure your pieces pass through time in good condition, it’s essential to take proper care of your jewellery. This is especially true when it comes to precious stones, which come with various characteristics that dictate a proper gemstone care routine. With some knowledge and cleaning tools that you probably already have in your kitchen, your bijouterie will be able to last as an heirloom for generations.

Why do gemstone and jewellery pieces lose their shine over time?

Gemstones and precious metals are organic materials that form from elements reacting together in the depths of the earth. As such, they are vulnerable to:

  • Scratches and chips;
  • Damage from exposure to harsh cleaning agents;
  • Natural oil and dirt build-up on the surface;
  • And fading from excessive exposure to heat or sunlight.

Stones have varying levels of porosity which can also affect their durability and appearance over time. Diamonds, sapphires, and rubies are considered non-porous as they have tightly packed crystal structures, whereas other stones like opals and pearls are typically more porous, making them more susceptible to damage from exposure to liquids, oils, or chemicals. 

Even non-porous gemstones can have surface-level porosity or micro-cracks due to poor cutting or polishing techniques during manufacturing.

Tips for gemstone and jewellery care

Here are four hard and fast rules for the daily care of your fine jewellery that applies to most gemstones and types of metal.

Do not store jewellery together

A jewellery box is a sentimental way to store your regalia. But without proper compartments and dust bags, your pieces bang together, and harder gemstones may scratch softer materials. They are also subject to micro imperfections from dust and dirt settling on them, rust spreading from one piece to another, and at a greater risk of tangling. Over time, this leads to dullness, discolouration, and damage.

Take your jewellery off while doing exercise

jewellery box filled with gemstone necklaces and earrings to show incorrect way to store jewellery

While it can be troublesome, it’s best to remove your ornaments before exercising. This is because many metals fade or oxidise when exposed to sweat, water, and body oils. Then there’s the factor of chipping, warping, or even losing a gemstone or two during vigorous activities.

If you do keep it on while working out, the best practice is to wash with soap and water to get rid of any lingering fluids and keep your gems looking shiny. Keep in mind that there are some materials that are more resistant to sweat or water, such as stainless steel, pure gold, or diamond.

Do not wear jewellery when swimming

In a similar vein, metals and gemstones in your rings, earrings, and necklaces can be harmed by the chemicals and/or movements involved in swimming. First, the chlorine in swimming pools and seawater in the ocean can corrode and oxidise metal, respectively. At the beach, suntan lotions and oils can remove the oiling or colouring treatments sometimes used on gemstones to give them their lustre.

Chemicals to avoid while cleaning gemstones

Before discussing how to polish certain precious gems, it’s important to keep in mind what not to use when cleaning them.

  • Bleach or chlorine: As mentioned, harsh chemicals such as these can degrade the surface of gems.
  • Ammonia: Ammonia can cause discolouration or damage to certain gemstones, such as emeralds.
  • Abrasives: Abrasives such as toothpaste or baking soda can scratch or damage the surface, especially of softer stones like opals.
  • Acids: Acids such as vinegar or lemon juice can cause damage or discolouration to some gemstones, including pearls, turquoise, and lapis lazuli.

How to clean lab created diamonds and gemstones? The same rules apply to both natural and ethically created stones, since they are chemically identical.

How to clean your gemstone jewellery

Blanket advice for how to clean gemstones is putting them in warm water and some mild soap or detergent, rinsing, then rubbing gently with a microfibre cloth. In general, ultrasonic cleaners can damage or loosen stones in jewellery settings, especially those that have fractures or inclusions. However, lab grown gemstones generally have fewer imperfections than their natural counterparts because they form in carefully controlled environments, so they are safer candidates for washing using ultrasonic technology.

While this same general advice can apply to most precious stones, all gemstones have unique properties. Here are some key points to remember for how to clean gemstones; we’ve chosen some of the most popular gemstones used in jewellery.

Emerald

Emeralds rank 7.5 to 8 to on the Mohs hardness scale. They are a relatively soft porous gemstone that can be easily damaged by harsh chemicals, water damage, or high heat. Heat in particular can extend existing fractures, which do frequently appear in mined emeralds. 

A gentle way to clean emerald gemstones is to leave them in lukewarm water with a few drops of dish soap for a few minutes, then rinsing thoroughly and patting dry with a non-abrasive cloth. Don’t leave emeralds in hot water, subject them to sudden temperature changes, or soak them for longer than 10 minutes.

Ruby

well cared for jewellery brooch with shiny ruby stone and diamonds

The red variety of corundum, rubies are a nine on the Mohs scale, making them (along with sapphire) the hardest stones in the world trailing after only diamonds. They are less brittle than emeralds and have no cleavage (the ability to break along internal crystal planes).

A relatively durable gemstone, you can clean a ruby using the same method explained above, using a steam cleaner, or using an ultrasonic cleaner if the stone has no significant surface imperfections or inclusions.

Sapphire

Sapphires are made up of the same mineral as rubies. As such, they can similarly be polished using warm water and soap, steam, or ultrasonic technology if they are free of large fractures or scratches. If your sapphire jewellery has large stains or smudges, you can gently brush these with soap and a soft-bristled toothbrush.

Diamond

The hardest mineral in the world at 10 on the Mohs scale, diamonds are the most resistant to wear and tear, making them suitable for long-wear jewellery. 

Diamonds can be soaked for longer in a degreasing solution (such as lukewarm water and soap mixture), up to 20–30 minutes to loosen any dirt or debris before brushing with a soft tool, rinsing, and wiping with a soft cloth. A special case, ammonia can be used to clean diamonds in the proper ratio with water (e.g. ¼ cup ammonia to 1 cup warm water).

Opal

One of the softer gemstones commonly seen in jewellery is opal, which ranks 5.5 to 6.5 on the hardness scale. You can dip a microfibre cloth dampened with a mixture of warm water and gentle dish soap to clean and restore the shine to opal stones, but it’s best to avoid soaking them in the solution.

Do not subject opal jewellery to intense sunlight or artificial lighting; the temperature change and heat can result in fractures.

Note: If you’re unsure about the best way to go about polishing a particularly delicate or valuable fine jewellery piece, we recommend you seek professional advice to avoid doing something irreversible.

Conclusion

Inter-Pacific is your trusted partner in lab created gemstones. We supply and source un-mined, ethically made coloured gemstones in a variety of rare hues and sizes that meet the highest standards in the gem industry. Book a free consultation to learn more about how we can help you facilitate your eco-friendly jewellery business or attain rare gemstone collectibles.

Leave a reply