祖母綠顏色等級詳細指南

祖母綠在印度語中被稱為「panna」(翠綠的石),自公元四世紀古埃及時代首次被人類開採以來,便與綠色有緊密聯繫。祖母綠的英語「emerald」來自通俗拉丁語「esmaralda」,這個字則源自古希臘語「smaragdos」(意思是「綠色寶石」)。事實上祖母綠並非只有純綠色,亦有帶黃、藍的綠,在明暗度和色調上也大有不同。本文將會介紹祖母綠的各種顏色,讓您對這世上最受歡迎之一的寶石有更深認識。

如何劃分祖母綠等級?

祖母綠可根據寶石分級標準進行分級,由天然AAA(最高級別)、天然AA(中等級別)到天然A(最低級別),分級過程中會考慮以下三點:

  • 色相(Hue):顏色的漸變(由淺到深);
  • 色調(Tone):顏色的強度取決於寶石的吸光能力;
  • 飽和度(Saturation):寶石主色的度數(以下會詳細解釋),以綠色為主、輔色少於15%的祖母綠通常價值較高。

寶石級的祖母綠普遍都不會有顏色不均的情況,無論從哪個角度看都能欣賞到均勻的色澤。

純綠色祖母綠項鍊

祖母綠綠色的含義

祖母綠並非世上唯一的綠色寶石,但因其稀有度、密度較高及具有迷人的透明色彩,使它在一眾綠色寶石中脫穎而出,當中以溫暖翠綠的哥倫比亞產祖母綠最獲推崇。

祖母綠的綠色象徵著和諧、繁榮和富裕,之所以產生這種聯繫,是因為綠色使人聯想到欣欣向榮的大自然,它也有澄靜人心的作用。在色彩心理學理論中,藍、紫、綠色等短波長的顏色是人類眼睛最容易識別;有不少研究者亦認為人體感知綠色時所產生的壓力較少,所以綠色有撫平神經系統的作用

藍綠色祖母綠

在祖母綠色系裡,「藍綠色祖母綠」屬於略帶藍色色調的祖母綠,贊比亞祖母綠即以這種藍調而聞名。某些珠寶商認為這種特色讓寶石更有深度、更具觀賞趣味,故而價格會更高。非洲出產的祖母綠含有更多鐵質,與哥倫比亞所產的比較之下,顏色會偏向冷調,硬度亦相對高一點。

純色祖母綠

以綠色為主的祖母綠最受追捧,哥倫比亞祖母綠著名之處,在於它呈現出強烈中等至深綠色飽和度。達致純綠色祖母綠的其中一個要素是,當光線穿過祖母綠是不受內含物妨礙,呈現出均勻的色澤。換言之,祖母綠需要達到高級別的純淨度,才可以在美國寶石研究院(GIA)的連續色相環圖裡定義為純綠色。

三顆色調稍有不同的祖母綠

黃綠色祖母綠

最後介紹在光譜較暖一端的黃綠色祖母綠。事實上任何綠柱色若其顏色超越「黃綠」範疇而進入黃色區域,或其顏色超越「藍綠」範疇而進入藍色區域的話,都不能歸類為祖母綠,會分別被界定為金綠柱石(Heliodor)和海藍寶石(Aquamarine)。黃綠祖母綠帶有略顯黃調底色,因稍欠飽和度,所以市場上對它的需求並不高。

總結

祖母綠呈現的不同顏色取決於本身的色相、色調和飽和度,亦會受到寶石內含物和裂縫所影響。開採天然祖母綠對人類健康和礦藏周遭環境具有不利影響,BIRON®的人造祖母綠是更有利環境的替代選擇。它是我們引以為傲的招牌實驗室培育寶石,它深致純淨的綠,與世人渴求的哥倫比亞天然祖母綠相比,肉眼根本難分軒輊。

有關祖母綠顏色的常見問題

祖母綠有哪些顏色?

祖母綠的顏色範圍由藍綠色到黃綠色都有,當中以純綠色的祖母綠因飽和度高而最為珍貴,而且必須具備高淨度才可達致純正的綠色。

甚麼因素會影響祖母綠的顏色?

祖母綠的顏色由其化學成分、產地及內含物而定,例如贊比亞祖母綠比哥倫比亞祖母綠含更多鐵質,使前者色調更冷。此外內含物越少,顏色純度便越高。

哥倫比亞祖母綠的可持續性如何?

哥倫比亞祖母綠是世上最搶手的祖母綠,然而天然祖母綠需要數千年時間及特定環境下形成,於是實驗室培育祖母綠如:BIRON®祖母綠成為可持續的替代選擇。

發表評論

Your Comprehensive Guide To Different Emerald Colours

Emerald, also called the panna stone in Hindi, has accrued an association with the colour green since it was first mined in Egypt in the 4th century. The name of the gemstone which has captured human attention up to the modern day comes from the Vulgar Latin word esmaralda, which is derived from the Ancient Greek word smaragdos, meaning “green gem”. But did you know that emeralds range from yellow-green to blue-green, and with varying darkness and hues? Become an expert in the colours of emeralds, one of the most desired coloured gemstones in the world.

Emerald grading scale

Emeralds are graded according to the gemstone grading scale, which ranges from Natural AAA (highest quality) to Natural AA (medium quality) and Natural A (lowest quality). Three characteristics are considered in this process:

  • Hue: Colour gradation, ranging from light to dark;
  • Tone: Intensity of colour determined by how much light the gemstone absorbs;
  • Saturation: Degree of the main colour in the gemstone, which is what we’ll be breaking down below. An emerald gemstone that is primarily green, exhibiting less than 15% of a secondary colour, is usually more expensive.

Gem-quality emeralds also typically have an even colour distribution throughout, meaning the colour looks similar when viewed from different angles.

necklace with gem-quality pure green emerald stone

Meaning of emerald green

While it isn’t the only green gemstone, emeralds have a prestigious position due to their relative rarity, density, and mesmerizing, transparent colour. Emeralds sourced from Colombian mines in particular are treasured for their luscious, warm viridescence.

The colour emerald green has come to symbolize harmony, prosperity, and wealth. This connection arises due to green’s correlation to nature, as well as the calming effects of the cool colour. In colour psychology, colours made up of short wavelengths, like blue, violet and green, are the easiest for our eyes to pick up. Some researchers believe that because less strain is required to perceive it, green calms the nervous system.

Bluish green emeralds

Bluish green emeralds on an emerald colour chart have a slight blue tinge. Zambian emeralds are known for leaning slightly bluish green. For some jewellers, this offers a depth and visual interest that can be desirable. Emerald gemstones sourced from the African country contain more iron content, which besides making it appear cooler-toned may contribute to its heightened hardness compared to Colombian emeralds.

Pure green emeralds

Emerald stones that are primarily green are the most sought-after. Colombian emeralds are renowned for exhibiting an intense medium to dark green saturation. A factor that contributes to a pure green colouration is even distribution of light through the gemstone uninhibited by inclusions. This means that an emerald stone should also have a high level of clarity to be classified as Green on the Continuous Hue Circle chart defined by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA).

three emerald stones with slightly different colours of green

Yellowish green emeralds

Finally, on the warmer end of the spectrum, there are yellowish green emeralds. In fact, any beryl stone that surpasses yellowish green into yellow territory or bluish green into blue territory can no longer be classified as emerald, but as heliodor (yellow or gold beryl) and aquamarine (blue beryl), respectively. Yellowish green emeralds have a slightly yellow undertone and are less in demand as they don’t appear as richly saturated.

Conclusion

The different colours of emerald or panna gemstones are determined by their hue, tone and saturation which is also affected by the number of inclusions and fractures within them. For an eco-friendlier alternative to natural emeralds, which are obtained through mining processes that hinder human health and adversely impact surrounding landscapes, we offer our signature lab-grown gemstone under BIRON, which is an emerald that conveys a deep, pure green indistinguishable to the naked eye from the coveted Colombian emerald.

FAQ about emerald colours

What are the different emerald stone colours?

Emerald gemstones range from bluish green to yellowish green. In the middle of the scale, there are pure green emeralds, which are the most prized for their rich saturation. In order to be pure green, panna stones must have high clarity.

What impacts the colour of emeralds?

Emerald stone colour is determined by their chemical makeup, source origin, and presence of inclusions. For example, emeralds from Zambia have relatively more iron than emeralds from Colombia, which makes them more cool-toned. The purity of colour is greater when there are fewer inclusions.

How sustainable are Colombian emeralds?

Colombian emeralds are the most sought-after emeralds in the world. However, there is a limited supply of them since these precious stones require a specific formation environment and form over thousands of years. Created emeralds like those produced by BIRON® offer a sustainable alternative.

Leave a reply